Slowly But Surely

3554264957_59133f1c82_o

Well, this was a less than stellar weight loss week…

I’ve been really religious about certain things since spring and it’s amazing how a little leniency for only a few days can completely sabotage your weight loss.

Traveling…ugh. Makes me even more stressed about Thanksgiving since I know I’ll be stuffing my face will all the gluten-free goodness I can get my hands on.  I tend to get flustered when I’m outside my normal element…i.e. when I’m not at home.

Nonetheless…here are this week’s successes and failures…

The Oops Side…

1)   I Drank My Damn Calories – For the last 6 months or so, I’ve been incredibly religious about not drinking my calories. I am TERRIBLE about downing 4 gallons of liquid at any given meal. Waiters hate me…HATE me. No sooner than they’ve refilled my glass and I’ve inhaled what was in it. I’m not sure if it was the carbonation that was making me feel like crap or the sheer amount I was sipping, but I decided to only drink water or unsweetened tea months ago and I think just this alone has made a world of difference in my weight and how I’m feeling. (I absolutely swore off diet drinks anyway because I’m super afraid of what aspartame does and that definitely wasn’t an option.) I seriously think I’ve been saving myself 3000 calories a meal. And even if it was only one Coke…it was one restaurant sized Coke which is the equivalent of about 4.5 cans of Coke and frankly, I’d much rather be able to eat those French fry calories than drink ‘em.

But this week…we were home. And the Carolinas means one thing…Cherry Lemon Sundrop. My kryptonite. I was introduced to it in college and I’ve been hooked ever since.  We bought a case and I’ve been downing them ever since.  If you’ve never tried the stuff, you’re seriously missing out. With that sweet cherry-citrusy goodness also came some calories I’d like to return.

2)   Sweet Tooth – With Halloween having been a few weeks ago, we still have candy left over. We bought a bag but had no costumed munchkins at the door so it’s left for us to consume. I’m guessing it was either the M&M’s or the pound of pralines I bought in Charleston. OMG…Pralines. I think I just got cold chills typing that. I truly think that eating a straight tablespoon of Crisco is better for you than a praline but who cares. They are so freaking delicious. In my book, people that don’t like Pralines are in the same category as people that don’t like babies or puppies. How can you not like butter and sugar and pecans melted together in a glorious heap? Well…apparently the scale didn’t like them…Heathen.

3)   On The Road Again – Being in the car for what felt like days at a time meant that cooking my own meals wasn’t really an option. So while traveling up or down some boring stretch of highway I was left with the only truly safe gluten-free options I knew of…Chick-Fil-A and uh, yeah that’s all. (Unless you count grabbing a bag of chips at a gas station.) Convenient, car worthy food is unfortunately not the healthiest. Maybe it was the 4 packets of Chick-Fil-A sauce? Best sauce EVER. (Damn sauce and its calories…ugh! I’m such a saucy girl. Ok…not saucy like that…dippin’ saucy girl.)

4)   Pre-meal – Allen and I have gotten a lot better….strike that. Hannah has gotten a lot better about not feeling like I HAVE to have an appetizer before every meal. I’m often so hungry that I feel like I might implode before the food can get there so almost always insist on some type of pre-meal snack since we can’t indulge in the bread and butter. (Side note…why do waitresses always look so offended when you say “No Bread!”?)

Cutting back on the appetizers has not only cut the calories, but the cost too. I mean seriously…what is the profit on spinach dip if it’s sold at a restaurant for $9.00?!

This past weekend however, I think we appetizered at every meal….except breakfast. Between the chips and spring rolls and pimento cheese with Bugles (you have to try it! Bugles are the unsung hero of the dip world), I over-indulged a bit. (Just to clarify…we did not have all of those things at one meal.)

But aside from a few hiccups…the week was not without a number of successes.

The Ohhh Yeah List…

1)   These Boots Were Made For Walking – Went to buy new boots today and was able to fit into non-elasticy, non-extended width boots. Yay!!! This should make my shoe fetish a bit more expensive. 🙂  I’ve had a tough time the last few years finding some that were wide enough and didn’t feel like a calf tourniquet. Three cheers for cute shoes!!

2)   Little Black Dress – At the beginning of all of this, there was a dress in my closet (I actually think it belonged to my sister in HS) that was my goal to fit in. Very late 90’s looking. Strapless. Stupid slits and the most horrid material. I never planned on wearing it out anywhere, but always set a goal that I wanted to be able to fit in that dress. I was probably close to 200 lbs when I was actually able to fit the dress for the Get In The Black Dress Mission over my hips. Zipping was out of the question. There was a good 4-5 inches before that thing was coming close to closed.

Well…I forgot about that dress. And for some reason, a few weeks ago, the thought of that dress randomly popped in my mind and I ventured to try it on. Well…goal dress is now what we would call too big. Hah! Fancy that…I am ripping the seams before and now it’s loose. Hashtag Awesome!

3)   Closet Clean Up – I finally got rid of all of my bigger girl clothes. There were a number of pieces that I held on to. Not sure why…not sure if it was to give myself a psychological pass to gain weight again. Not sure if it was my cheapo brain that didn’t want to throw anything away that I’d paid for.  I would wear a few things every once in a while thinking I was getting away with a slightly looser shirt or pair of pants. Not so much. I looked like a hobo, which I decided is not an appropriate look for job interviews. So…to prevent frumpy in the future, all clothing that is not my current size is now in the hands of Goodwill. Organization and a tax write off!

4)   Photo Op – We took a trip to NC for a fantastic photo session. It’s the first time my sisters and I have been together since my sister’s wedding. Not only was the session a million times less daunting because I wasn’t as stressed about how many chins were showing, but I got to see my amazingly adorable niece and that was worth every minute in the car!

5)   And last but not least…The Scale – I’m in the 150’s for the first time…ummm ever?! I think I was born weighing 160. This also means that my BMI has dropped from a 42.6 to a 27.3…craziness!

IMG_1316

Hoping for less ‘oopsies’ next week and a better loss result. I’ve got my sights set on that 100-pound mark!

“I don’t measure a man’s success by how high he climbs but how high he bounces when he hits bottom.” ~ George S. Patton

One thought on “Slowly But Surely

  1. Pingback: Recipe Of The Week – Meatless Zucchini Roll-Ups | Pudge Gets A Pink Slip

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think!

