If You’re Happy And You Know It Clap Your Hands!

I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus the last few weeks. A few trips out of town, furniture market and preparation for my sister’s wedding in a few days had my brain in a million different directions.

After all this travel, I had a frightful reunion with the scale. But I did not fret…I did not panic. I didn’t decide to eat merely a tablespoon of lettuce for the rest of my life or vow to wear a trash bag around the house to sweat out the extra weight. I didn’t do ANY of the things I normally do.

Who is this girl and what the hell did she do with her old self?

I decided to take a deep breath and get back on track. Oddly enough…not stressing got me back on track much, much faster than I expected and even managed to drop some more….

 

 

Reflecting on my newfound reaction to adversity I realized something. I am changed. I am positive. I am happy.

Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it. – Groucho Marx

Happiness is often defined in different ways, which of course creates a fuzzy picture on what happiness actually is. There is no set standard for happiness. There is no specific explanation. I know what happiness is for me….

The sound of the ocean…the smell of honeysuckle in the spring…holding my love’s hand…cooking dinner for my family…the excitement in my dog’s eyes when I come home…Oyster Roasts with the family…my sister’s crazy laugh… my mom’s okra…my niece’s sweet smile…liking myself in a bathing suit…my Poppy Doc’s stories…my daddy’s 4-hour meal preparation…Fripp Island…the smell of hickory-smoked barbeque…feeling healthier than I ever have in my life…being in love…learning how to trust again…finally being proud of myself…believing in my ability… loving who I see in the mirror…these are some of the things that make up my happiness.

Don’t get me wrong…my mood isn’t always happy but knowing that I’m striving to live an incredible life with supportive, positive people around me keeps me in a state of pure exhilaration.  I am taking life one day at a time, and it is paying off.

I have discovered the life I always dreamed of having…and it really, truly has nothing to do with my dress size. I am eternally grateful for the people in my life, especially the ones that supported me when I was too weak to do it myself. I am grateful for the long journey I have been on, for if it weren’t for the hurdles I’ve been forced to face, I wouldn’t be who I am right now.

I am grateful for the lessons…I am grateful for the encouragement…I am grateful to be me.

 

Clap. Clap. Clap.

Happiness is when what you think, what you say and what you do are in harmony.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think!

